A Wheel family dinner

March 31, 2012

two parents and two kids eating dinner

This is not my family--we never eat that much salad.

My husband and I both grew up with Family Dinners. Two parents, two kids gathered at a round table, gulping down a square meal. Talking, sulking, laughing, teasing, scolding and trying to enjoy one another’s company. And often succeeding.

So naturally I assumed this is what our family would do. And for a while, we did. Jon or I cooked a meal, dished it out at our tiny table, rolled Chloe’s wheelchair and feeding tube up to one side, and had family dinner.

But a successful family dinner depends on communication, and for Chloe, communication is hard. We tried to include her, asking questions and putting down our forks in order to help her answer them. But there is only so much small talk you can make out of yes/no questions, so Jon and I often lapsed back into “grown-up talk” while Chloe got bored and grumpy.

We kept at it, though, because I thought it was a rule: “good” families eat dinner together, not separately. And definitely not in front of the TV.

I don’t remember how we started watching Wheel of Fortune at dinner time. We’d known for years that Chloe liked it, and for a while, we kept it as a once-a-week tradition, a special indulgence.

These days, however, it’s the norm. Instead of gathering around the table, we line up in front of the TV to watch the daily antics of Pat, Vanna, and a random assortment of letter-guessers.

Chloe likes it when Jon and I can guess the puzzles before the contestants, and she loves when I start yelling “don’t buy another vowel, you idiot, the answer is obvious!” We cheer together when someone wins the bonus round, and grumble collectively when the puzzle includes too many Q’s and W’s for anyone to have guessed.

I like to think that Chloe gets some spelling and vocabulary practice out of the whole thing, but mainly, we enjoy sharing this experience, as a family.

One Response to “A Wheel family dinner”


  1. I miss family dinners. It’s funny because when I was a kid I thought they were stupid but now I appreciate them in hindsight.


Leave a Reply

