Help!

October 25, 2010

I’m trying to find an agent for my memoir, which covers our first five years with Chloe.  It’s similar to this blog in tone and style, but a little more personal. (When I started the blog, I decided not to reveal anything about Chloe that could embarrass her.  But details about her babyhood, I figure, are up for grabs).

Anyway, I need a title.  If you’ve been reading this blog, you know something about where our family is now in relation to Chloe’s disability–the book explains the struggles we went through to get there.  And if you have a special needs kid, you know something about that!

I’m horrible at titles, though.  In fact, I didn’t even come up with the title for this blog–it came from my creative writing teacher, who suggested it as the title of this essay, which, by the way, is part of the book.

So I’m asking you for title suggestions.  I’m going for quantity over quality here–you never know when a less-than-perfect idea could spark the perfect one.  Please please please write something in the comments.  You can even do it anonymously!

6 Responses to “Help!”

  1. Jamie Says:

    A Life of Overcoming

  2. Grandma Says:

    I love “Along for the Ride” so much, don’t know if it can be topped. It nails the different meanings for me of our part of the journey thus far with Chloe.

    Will chew on your request, though, and let you know if something else comes to mind for your consideration. Ditto for GP.

  3. yanna Says:

    off the top of my head:

    Same one “along for the ride” (why not be consistent?)
    “letting go”
    “facing grace”
    “the world according to Chloe”
    “disguised gifts”
    “grace in disguise”
    “surrender to joy”
    “slow down for joy”
    “catching up to Chloe”
    “catching up in motion”
    “slow motion to joy”

    Well, you wanted quantity, right?

  4. yanna Says:

    a few more (I’m on a roll here)
    “slow is beautiful”
    “beyond control”
    “the bliss beyond control”
    “life in slow motion”
    “sharing Chloe’s joy”
    “walk a mile in my shoes”
    “ride a mile in my chair”

  5. Grandpa Says:

    “The Chloe Effect” might work on the two levels of the difficulty of managing issues and the joy so many people experience from their relationship with Chloe.

  6. The Grandfather Says:

    I agree that “Along for the Ride” would be hard to improve on, since it implies letting go and lack of control,as well as other important themes (a cultural journey as well as a personal one, for example). It could come with a more explanatory subtitle (“Five Years with Chloe,” “Letting Go with Chloe,” “A Journey with Chloe Joy,” etc).


Leave a Reply

